Media Whores


What is it with Facebook and other social media?

Is it really just that therapeutic to share your feelings with the world?  Or is it just another addiction like cigarettes or drugs?

I’m beginning to think it’s an addiction that people just can’t stay away from… Not to mention, the media just eats it up.

Source: Blogzworth.com

Source: Blogzworth.com

I read an article online this morning about a man who was hanging Christmas lights for his 4-year-old daughter, and while he was making some adjustments to his “winter wonderland,” he was electrocuted and died.  The article went on to mention how he planned to propose to his girlfriend underneath the very lights he died putting up.  What a heartbreaker, right?

The pictures in the article were pulled from Facebook, so I pulled up this guy’s poor girlfriend’s page to see the outpouring of love and support that neighbors and others were sharing.

What I found, however, shocked me.  I saw that this girl has been consistently posting on Facebook since he died.  She’s shared numerous Pinterest photos and has posted some other things, as well.  Um, excuse me, but if your soon-to-be-fiancé just died, do you think scouring Pinterest is really a good idea?

According to her very own Facebook page, her boyfriend died on December 17th.  Yep, that’s right.  She posted that very night on her wall that her boyfriend had just passed away after falling off a roof while hanging Christmas lights.  Am I the only one who finds that a little insensitive and odd?

Only five days after that, she posts “Rain Rain Go Away!!!”

What the heck?!  Perhaps I’m the odd man out here, but after only five days, I can’t imagine I would even be on Facebook, much less annoyed by the rainy weather.  I would still be devastated – confined to my bed, unable to even get dressed in the mornings.  I would be thankful for my mom and sister taking care of my kids, whom I would be completely unable to take care of by myself that soon after the love-of-my-life had tragically and senselessly died.

Then, the following day, she posts a picture she found on Pinterest talking about true love.  She commented on it, saying, “I was so lucky to find this once… Hopefully I’ll be blessed enough to find it again.”

Say what??!!  When I saw that particular post, I was speechless at her cavalier attitude and mention of finding love in the future.  Again, maybe it’s just me, but I can’t imagine even the thought of looking for love again less than a week after my “soulmate” had died.

As I sat, staring at my computer in disbelief, I came to two conclusions.  Either,

1. Facebook is like crack, and people really can’t stay away from it; or

2. The media just loves an ironic, heartbreaking story.

Maybe this guy had no intention of really proposing this Christmas under his magical lightshow.  After all, they did just meet in the fall, according to the article.  But, of course, the Romeo and Juliet irony is just too amazing to skip past on your newsfeed.  I admit, it was hard not to fall in love with this heartbreaking story the second I read it.

So why didn’t the writer just focus on the man’s daughter, then?  There was no question that he had a daughter whom he loved to death – that much was evident in the pictures he had taken with her.  I wonder if that was because the author was unable to interview her since she’s a minor.  It always sounds better when you can get some good quotes in from a heartbroken lover, right?  In this particular story, the social-media-loving girlfriend was quoted as saying that she would have said “yes” to the man whom she claimed to love so much.

Well, duh… I’m sure you would have.  But since you can’t now, we’ll all just shower you with our sympathies as you continue to post about the weather on Facebook and find some good crafts to try on Pinterest.

Source: Q1 Labs

Source: Q1 Labs

What do you think?  Am I just being an insensitive witch, or do you call bologna on this whole story, too?  I can’t wait to hear your thoughts!

 

8 responses to “Media Whores

  • Rachael @ mummyflyingsolo

    That is really weird. How old was this woman??? The only thing that would make it less weird is if she was 20. Or at least eather young. At the same time grief is an individual thing and people deal in different ways. I imagine it feels pretty surreal to lose someone so close and spending time online probably helps block it out and not deal? Still. Very odd.

  • frustratedreader

    not only is that weird to me, it makes me wonder briefly about of the validity of the relationship. It makes me wonder if she actually loved the guy or if she’s just putting on a front.

  • One man and his Mustang

    That is just so wrong. I must confess I am not a fan of Facebook and it’s automatically updated by my blog. Twitter I use for a quick – “going on the car and it’s cold” etc. But I hate all this – just got up and having two bits of toast, then I am gonna have a milky coffee etc. That drives me nuts. I have better things to do that all that. I even had a mate who used to tweet everytime he stops at traffic lights!
    The power of social media is heavy on the mids of the corporations. If you start a thread up about how poor their service is etc they come straight back to you. For that reason I like it. I have separate accounts for twitter now and another for rants. Nobody wants to hear about poor service I had when they are looking at my latest updates on the car!
    To sum it up, I am with you on what you say and it all goes a bit to far sometimes, but I can’t see it going away somehow!

  • Perfection Pending

    Super weird. And, you’re probably right. It’s probably fake….at least I hope that it is!!

  • sophisticatedjerseygirl

    I completely agree with you! Social media can be entertaining, but I think somethings are too personal and private to be shared with everyone. One of my college roommates actually found out that a family member had died when her cousin posted on facebook “RIP *insert name here*”, before any of her family had gotten a chance to contact her personally. It was definitely not the best way to find out about the death of a loved one!!

Have Two Cents?

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

