Crybaby, Crybaby…


So by now, we’ve all heard about the Phil Robertson/Duck Dynasty drama.  Phil actually voiced his personal opinion on a hot topic that some people didn’t like, and now he’s in hot water for it.

Let me start this post off by reminding of you of something:

We live in America, people.

Now, with that being said, let me also remind you that every single one of us has the right to say what we think.  We don’t live in China or in Cuba or in North Korea.  One of the beauties of being an American (or a damn Canadian for that matter) is that we get to say whatever we want.  I’m allowed to tell you how much I hate you or your cat or your stupid lifestyle.  I’m allowed to tell you that you shouldn’t wear those pants ever again or that you’re hair looks atrocious.  And I’m also allowed to tell you that I think this Huffington Post article is one of the stupidest articles I’ve ever read.

So now a person can’t really be a Christian and love you if he doesn’t agree with your lifestyle?  Get real.

Can someone please tell me when the heck we, as a society, became so dang sensitive?  When did we become such crybabies?

 

Back in the day, when little Johnnie said something mean and hurt our feelings, we would tell him to screw off and then we’d go on our merry way doing exactly what we were doing before he offended us.  We may even rub it in his face a little, hoping to offend him in return.

Not anymore, though.  Nope.  Now we get our overly-sensitive feelings hurt, and the first thing we do about it is post it on a public forum and whine and cry until we have people pat us on the back, wipe our tears, and tell us everything will be okay because now they’re going to start boo-hooing about the big mean bully, too. 

Really, GLAAD?  Phil Robertson’s comments were some of “the vilest and most extreme” said about gays and lesbians?  Are you even being serious right now?  “Homosexual” is not even close to the most offensive word I’ve heard used to describe a gay man or a lesbian.  You people must not ever turn the TV or radio on.

So it’s offensive to some homosexuals to watch a show on A&E wherein the stars of said show don’t agree with being gay.  Well why aren’t the awful, mean, conservative bullies complaining to A&E about Modern Dads?  I mean, dads aren’t supposed to stay at home, right?  Aren’t they all supposed to be out working 12 hours a day at some factory, while their wives stay home and make sure they have dinner on the table and the kids in the bath before Daddy comes home? 

Source: We Know Memes

Source: We Know Memes

And I never hear the anti-gay bullies complain to Huffington Post about all the gay hosts of the home improvement shows that litter A&E’s television lineup.  What if they’re offended by all the gayness?  [Oh wait… The Huff Post wouldn’t broadcast those complaints anyway, would they?  No, they wouldn’t.  But you know what?  They don’t even have to make that decision because most people who are offended by something they see on TV or hear on the radio just TURN IT OFF.] 

If you don’t like it, then don’t watch it, dammit.  You don’t have to try to make your complaints and whining viral by posting it to every social networking site that exists.  I’ll tell you one thing… You complain and whine and cry about being offended and how Phil’s show needs to be taken off the air, but let me tell you a little secret…

You’re making them even more famous!  You’re broadcasting to the rest of the world the very thing you don’t want anyone else to hear!  You’re making their supporters come out of the woodwork and rally behind them.  And all the while, you’re still curled up in your little corner crying yourself to sleep and begging people to affirm you and pat your back.  Seems legit.

No, we’re not all gay.  Or all black.  Or all Christian.  But if I see something that doesn’t apply to me or my lifestyle, then I make the decision regarding whether or not to read it, listen to it, share it, or even agree with it.  If I don’t like it, then I TURN. IT. OFF.  I forget, though, that these crybabies are the same crybabies who would also whine and pout if we weren’t allowed to express our opinions openly.  Damned if you do.  Damned if you don’t.

Stop being such a crybaby.  Grow up.  Get over it.  Stop drawing attention to the very thing that you’re whining about having such attention.  It doesn’t make sense.  If you don’t agree with Phil, then tell him to eff off, and then move on.  Then go have a few drinks at your local gay bar.

9 responses to “Crybaby, Crybaby…

  • Jolene

    THANK YOU!!! geez…. I hated looking at Facebook because all I saw were people either for or against Phil, seriously…enough already. Then I get a message from my daughter stating that she was upset with her soon to be mother inlaw because she was allowing others to tear my daughter down on her FB post and not having her back. It was a mess….. I finally told my daughter that ignorance is bliss and some people are just assholes. Alicia, it got so bad that some guy told my daughter that she was the reason why gays commit suicide. I finally stepped in and said something to Mr.Asshole…..some people are just idiots!!

    • aliciabenton

      I couldn’t have said it better… Some people really are just morons. REALLY???? Your daughter is the reason gays commit suicide?! You’re kidding me. I cannot believe the ignorance of some people. It seems like people feel better about themselves by blaming others for their insecurities. What a mess. I’m so glad she had you to step in.

  • draliman

    I don’t know who any of the people are in this post but it’s true what you say about “turn it off” if you don’t like/agree with something, instead of whining on and on about it.
    It never ceases to amaze me the number of people who state that they’ve “watched all 100 episodes” of such and such and find it appalling/degrading/obscene or whatever. Why didn’t they just turn it off after the first 10 minutes and get on with their lives?
    As you say, there’s no better publicity than a bunch of people complaining about something!

  • frustratedreader

    First of all, I missed you……Second, I totally agree. I’ve kind of been ignoring Facebook recently because of this subject.

    • aliciabenton

      I’ve missed you, too! It’s crazy how busy I’ve been lately and how I’ve actually missed all my fellow bloggers!

      Oh, I know… anytime I see something related, I scroll past it as quickly as my little fingers can go!

Have Two Cents?

Jeanne Grier

A modern day mom

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

