What Did You Just Say???


Kids say the darndest things, right?  Well where do they get those darndest things from?

TV?  Sure.

Friends?  Definitely.

Adults who are supposed to be role models?  Wait, what??

This is exactly where my kids have heard some of my most-hated words… from adults who are supposed to be role models in their lives.

Regardless of where they hear some of the words I just can’t stand, the fact remains that they are bound to hear them from someone at some time, right?  That doesn’t mean that I have to like it, though.

Here’s a list of some of those words that just make my skin crawl:

1. Titties

Ugh, I hate that word.  And I also think that no child should ever utter it.  So where have my kids heard this word so many times that they now think it’s acceptable to use?  From one of their sperm donor’s relatives.  And no, this relative is not a man, believe it or not.  SHE is a SHE.  And she always refers to what I affectionately call boobies as titties.  Does that word not gross you out as much as it does me?  I don’t know what exactly bothers me about it, but I just hate it, and it’s now considered a curse word in our house.

2. Piss

Why on earth can’t people just call it pee?  While my boys don’t say this word because it, too, is considered a bad word, they have heard it many times by a supposed role model.  Who, you ask?  One of their football coaches, of all people.  We were recently at practice, and the coach told the team to “Hurry up and get this play off.  [So-and-so] has to piss.”  Are you serious right now?  These boys were 10 and 11 years old.  Why is that word acceptable for them to hear?  I was immediately grossed out and, not to mention, a little embarrassed that they were subjected to that word.

3. Gayeee

Unfortunately, this word is heard by kids on a pretty consistent basis by their peers.  And no, they don’t mean it in any way whatsoever that relates to a person’s sexuality.  Instead, they use it to refer to something “stupid,” if you will.  I know they don’t mean any ill-will by it, but I still can’t stand it.  Thanks, Señor Chang.  Thanks a lot.

4. Shut the F…ront Door!

Sadly, my boys don’t only hear this crap.  Ronald says this crap.  All.  The.  Time.  It drives me crazy.  He heard it from a family friend who says it on a pretty regular basis, thinking he’s funny.  He’s not.

5. Mixed Breed

What?!  Did you really just list that, Alicia?  Why, yes.  Yes, I did.  It actually wasn’t that long ago that one of my kids actually heard these words come out of someone’s mouth.  We were at Gerald’s basketball try-outs, and the mom of one of the other kids trying out actually said to me (after she realized which boy was mine), “Oh, you know, I’ve always said those people who’ve mixed breeds have the prettiest kids.”

WTF, lady – Are you kidding me?!  Guys, seriously, I couldn’t even believe she had just let that crap come out of her mouth.  Not to mention, my other kid was sitting right beside me when she did.  In fact, that’s the only reason I felt the need to restrain myself from going postal on her.  [Sigh…Some people…      

6. Douchebag

Who under the sun would say this word in front of her children and lead them to believe this is acceptable to say?  Okay, never mind.  That “role model” would be me, and yes – I admit – I’ve actually called my kid a douchebag before.  Here’s why.  Probably not the best example, huh?

That’s when I use the ever famous…

“Do as I say and not as I do.”

So, parents, what do you think?  Am I overreacting?  Are these words that I shouldn’t really despise and not really care so much that my kids are hearing or, possibly, saying?

I’d love to hear what the “bad words that aren’t really bad words” are in your houses.  Weigh in!

19 responses to “What Did You Just Say???

  • ardenrr

    I still remember when I called someone a bastard and my mom flipped the F out. I had no idea it was a bad word. I was pretty young. I had just heard someone use it (probably my mom – hah). I still think it’s hilarious 🙂

  • Twindaddy

    I don’t have a problem with any of those words. When I have a problem with something someone says it’s because of the intent behind the words.

    As for what my kids are allowed to say, they are not allowed to use profanity. Not because I think profanity is wrong, but because I don’t need to be called into the principal’s office frequently regarding my children’s pottymouths.

  • The Cutter

    Everyone’s got words that they hate. And chances are, your kids are gonna figure them out quick and use them as much as possible.

  • mollytopia

    Those are all awful and hilarious. Except mixed breed. That’s not hilarious. Just ignorant and horrible. Currently I’m trying to shut down the Disney nonsense, “what the…?” No bad word is actually said, it’s just in implied. “Sucks” is another one, although I say it with regularity to other grown-ups when I’m not aware Anna’s within earshot. But the big one for me is “hate.” She only says it twice a year when things happen that 9yos find catastrophic in nature, but I gasp like someone has punched me. Mostly for effect, but in my perfect world, not only is “hate” not spoken, it flat out doesn’t exist. We’ll get there eventually right? Great post Alicia : )

    • aliciabenton

      Thank you so much – and for the Twitter shout-out! You’re the sweetest!

      Oh my goodness – I can’t stand that “What the …” either. Ronald also does THAT all the time. I raise one eyebrow like “I dare you to finish that…,” and he gives me his puppy dog eyes and giant, innocent, “Whaaaat? I didn’t say anything.” Ooh, that burns my butt! Glad to know he’s somewhat of a normal child. He’s only two years older than Anna, so they’re pretty much the same!

      And yes, I hate “hate,” too. See what I did there?? 😉 But seriously, I don’t like that word, either. Every time the boys say it, we have a nice lecture on how NO one should hate ANYone.

      Parenting… no one told me what a job this would be.

  • Cowboys and Crossbones

    You’re spot on! I say piss but in the form of pissed off. How in the hell did you react to the ‘mixed breed’ comment?!

    • aliciabenton

      Girl, I had to do everything in my power not to freak the eff out. I looked at her and said, “Did you really just say that?” She clearly didn’t see what she said wrong because she looked at me like, “What??” Oh, I was so mad!

  • Lucia Maya

    I agree, all these bother me, and several are offensive. My kids didn’t used to use them thankfully. Glad you’re raising kids to be conscious of not only word choice, but being thoughtful in general.

    • aliciabenton

      Some words are just so gross, and I can’t imagine an adult saying them, much less children. But some of the things I hear kids say nowadays when I’m out and about are astounding. What happened to the good old days?!

  • One man and his Mustang

    With you on the words. But I have heard younger kids use far far worse than that. Like you say the offence is in the context and intended outcome.

  • Aussa Lorens

    Haha oh my gosh– the word “titties” makes me want to shove sharp objects in my ears. Make. It. Stop. Now, “tatas” on the other hand is perfectly acceptable.

    I have NEVER heard someone say “mixed breed” in reference to someone who is biracial. I don’t even know if I would be able to pick my jaw up off the ground to respond to that.

    I totally use douchebag… I can’t help it… It just says so much. Luckily I don’t have any kids around to pollute…. yet.

    • aliciabenton

      Yes! I know exactly the feeling of wanting to shove sharp objects in my ears! I always say I’m going to stab them out with my letter opener at work! Lol!

      Douchebag is one of my personal favorite words. I probably should never admit that again… but I’m glad to know I’m not alone! 😉

Have Two Cents?

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

