Things We Couldn’t Live Without Growing Up


I was a child of the 80s, and here’s what my sister and I couldn’t live without:

1. Furbies

Y’all, I swear my sister interacted with her Furbie so much, she taught the damn thing Spanish!

Source: Babble

Source: Babble

2. Puffalumps

This is the exact one I had!

3. Cabbage Patch Kids

And yes, I did send the birth certificates in – Don’t judge!

Source: Nickutopia

Source: Nickutopia

4. Barbies

Remember how her shoes would never stay on?!  So frustrating!

Source: Electric Alice

Source: Electric Alice

5. Magic 8 Ball

Outlook not so clear.

Source: Amazon

Source: Amazon

6. Glo Worm

I couldn’t sleep without it.

Source: Time

Source: Time

7. Teddy Ruxpin

He was definitely creepier than he was cute.

Source: My Synonym

Source: My Synonym

8. Skip It

I was the master at skipping it!

Source: The Atlantic Wire

Source: The Atlantic Wire

9. Pogo Ball

Jump out of the 50s and into the 80s!

Source: Goodtoknow

Source: Goodtoknow

10. Velcro Ball

And it’s a wonder why I can’t catch…

Source: Super Fun Stuff

Source: Super Fun Stuff

11. Big Wheel

You couldn’t tell me anything while I was cruising the ‘hood on my Smurf Big Wheel!

Source: flickr

Source: flickr

12. Merry-Go-Round

The best part was jumping off while it was still spinning!

Source: Football Speak

Source: Football Speak

13. Guess Who

“Please pick the black dude with glasses or the white lady with the beret.”

Source: Tangled Up In Words

Source: Tangled Up In Words

14. Shopping Cart

Times before inflation sure were good…

Source: Gulama

Source: Gulama

15. Corn Popper

I don’t know how this didn’t drive my parents crazy.

Source: My Fitness Pal

Source: My Fitness Pal

16. Parachute

This was the sole upside to gym class.

Source: flickr

Source: flickr

17. Pop-Up Tunnel

They treated us like hamsters.

Source: Amazon

Source: Amazon

18. Grow-With-Me Roller Skates

Click, click, click…

Source: Memez

Source: Memez

19. Trolls

My grandma used to borrow them from us to take them to Bingo with her!

Source: About.com

Source: About.com

20. My Buddy

“My Buddy… My Buddy… My Buddy and me…”

Source: Fran's House of Dolls and Toys

Source: Fran’s House of Dolls and Toys

21. Walkman

Today’s kids have no idea that there’s a connection between pencils and cassette tapes!

Source: Baktrack

Source: Baktrack

22. Garbage Pail Kids

I can’t figure out for the life of me what we loved about these – but we did!

Source: The Mary Sue

Source: The Mary Sue

23. Slap Bracelets

We loved them until we were convinced they would slice our hands off!

Source: Fashions Update

Source: Fashions Update

24. Pound Puppies

It was like 101 Dalmatians in our house.

Source: fanpop!

Source: fanpop!

25. Snoopy Sno-Cone Machine

Every child of the 80s had one of these!

Source: The Green Head

Source: The Green Head

26. Care Bears

“Care Bear Stare!”

Source: TV Acres

Source: TV Acres

27. My Little Pony

I had more hair brushes than I did ponies!

Source: Girls' Literature and Culture

Source: Girls’ Literature and Culture

28. Pogs

Stupidest. Game. Ever.

Source: Wikia

Source: Wikia

29. Rainbow Brite

I even had Rainbow Brite curtains in my room!

Source: Motley News

Source: Motley News

30. Punky Brewster

I wished I could be just like her…

Source: retroland

Source: retroland

31. Trapper Keeper

I saw them at Target last weekend – They’re back!!!

Source: Like Totally 80s

Source: Like Totally 80s

32. Strawberry Shortcake

My sister had these curtains!

Source: Wikia

Source: Wikia

33. Nintendo

Original Donkey Kong, baby!!!

Source: Wikia

Source: Wikia

34. Radio Flyer

Every kid should have had one of these!

Source: Toy TMA

Source: Toy TMA

35. Lisa Frank

Hooray for sticker books!!

Source: fanpop!

Source: fanpop!

Now that we’ve all reminisced a little, don’t you wish you were a kid again?!

19 responses to “Things We Couldn’t Live Without Growing Up

Have Two Cents?

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

