“You make the Titanic look like a tiny little misadventure.” ~Gina Ranalli


The recent death of radio star Kidd Kraddick reminded me of a time I almost won a thousand dollars.  Almost.

It was September 22, 2011.  Kidd was running a contest called Credit Card Roulette.  The object was that he would announce a four-digit number, and if you had a credit card that ended in those digits, you were supposed to upload a picture of those numbers from your card.

Then, they would select three listeners whose numbers matched, and Kidd would call all three names out on air.  The first of the three listeners to call in would win $1,000.

Let me begin by backing up a little.  I listened to Kidd Kraddick in the Morning every single morning.  From start to finish.  I would turn it on the second I got in the car in the morning, listen to it all the way to work, and then once I got to work, I’d listen to the rest of the morning’s show on my computer.

I even had the boys looking forward to listening every morning.  Their favorite was Hizziewood Hizzle and Kinsey.  “J-Si, what the hell…”

And every single day that I had those matching four numbers, I’d take a picture of half of my credit card, upload it, and wait for my name to be called.  Only, every day, that didn’t happen.  He’d call Suzie and Billy and Sammy.  Or April and Lisa and Angela.

But he’d never call Alicia.

There was one morning that I had to drive about two hours to the nearest Federal Court to file a Complaint.  As usual, I was listening to KKITM, but eventually I got nothing but static.  Bummed, I found another clear station, got to the Court, filed my Complaint, and headed back to work.

When I got back, I couldn’t wait to catch up on the half of the show I’d missed when the radio station went out.  I played the second half of that morning’s show from my desk.  When the Credit Card Roulette segment came up, this is what I heard:

“The three listeners with today’s Credit Card Roulette numbers are … Alicia Benton … Jane Dow … and June Doe.  The first of the three to call us at 1-800-543-3548 will win $1,000!!!”

ARE YOU EFFING KIDDING ME?!  YOU’VE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME.

I couldn’t believe what I’d heard.  Thinking I must be going crazy, I rewound the video, and I listened to it again.  “The three listeners with today’s Credit Card Roulette numbers are … Alicia Benton …”

FUDGE!  EFF, DASH, DASH, DASH!

I continued to listen through the song they played right after announcing the names – which included MINE – and as one of the bitches called in and won MY money!

I sat in disbelief, more pissed off at myself for listening to the show than for having to miss that segment that morning.  Why did I even have to go back and listen to it?!

Of course, I then made it worse by thinking about it a million and ten times over the next few weeks.  I played that part of the show over and over and over.  And over.  I made my mom listen to it and my sister listen to it and the hubby listen to it.  I just couldn’t believe that the ONE show I missed was the one where Kidd finally called my name.

And I KNOW I would have been the first to call in.  I’d had the number programmed in my phone for the two months prior that they’d been running that contest.  Dammit!

Anyway, as I recall that bittersweet moment, I remember, with fondness, all the mornings I’d spend on my way to work, tears rolling down my cheeks from laughter.  Kidd, Kellie, Big Al, J-Si, and Jenna would make all of my mornings better.  It’s a shame that the mastermind behind the funniest morning show on the air has passed away far too young.

Rest in peace, Kidd Kraddick.

Source: tumblr

Source: tumblr

14 responses to ““You make the Titanic look like a tiny little misadventure.” ~Gina Ranalli

  • donofalltrades

    You’re a strange bird sometimes, you know that?

  • draliman

    Well, that’s just typical 😦
    At least you didn’t stop playing the lottery only to find “your” numbers all coming up the next week.
    It’s such a shame as you were such a loyal listener.

    • aliciabenton

      That’s EXACTLY why I’ve never ever played the lottery!! It would be just my luck that something like that would happen!

      Has something like that happened to you?

      I shouldn’t have even written about it – Now I’m mad all over again! Lol!

      • draliman

        No, I play “lucky dip” on the lottery and never know what my numbers are (I play online and get an email when I win), so it doesn’t matter if I stop!

        I did win 250 quid on the lottery a couple of months ago 🙂 – part-paid for my little Wales holiday!

      • aliciabenton

        Wow – that’s amazing! How neat! If I were to ever play, I’d be better off not knowing what my numbers were, either… or at least not handpicking them.

        That’s really cool that you actually won something! Now you just need to shoot for that million!

  • Dad, It's OK!

    I used to love radio shows when I was younger… I racked up free tickets to 3 different concerts, the chance to “interview” (and by that I mean ask 1 question) the Deftones and listen to their newest album a month before release while on their tourbus and backstage at their show, a PSP grand prize package, and some other things. My friends used to hand me the phone whenever there was a call-in opportunity to win because of my ridiculous luck with those shows.

    These days, I can’t remember the last time I even listened to the radio.

    • aliciabenton

      Dang!! That’s awesome! I never win anything!

      Wanna’ buy my first lottery ticket? I’ve never played because of my horrendously bad luck with winning stuff. 😉

      I don’t listen to the radio very much anymore, either – but that was always one show that I loved and would listen to every morning.

Have Two Cents?

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

