“Man, we lit up your world like the 4th of July…” ~Toby Keith


Today is my favorite day of the year – July 4th…  A day where our pride as Americans is just tangible.

Alicia Benton Photography

Alicia Benton Photography

I don’t know about you, but I’m one of those nerds who still has to hold back tears every time I hear the National Anthem, even though I’ve now heard it approximately 1,568 times.

Source: ESPN

Source: ESPN

Every time I see an old man, I get emotional.  Not sad emotional, but proud emotional.  As I watch them walk down the street or through the grocery store, I wonder about how they defended our Country for us.  Which wars have they fought in?  What do they think about how much our society has changed over the years?  Are they proud of what they see around them now, or are they ashamed?

Source: DoDLive

Source: DoDLive

I get choked up a little every time I see a soldier.  I am so thankful for the men and women who fight for our freedoms… the very freedoms I take advantage of every day.  While I’m at home complaining that we can’t go outside and swim because it’s raining again, these brave heroes are sleeping in a place that’s not their home – on something that can barely be called a bed – in a place that’s sweltering with no A/C – with no real food for months at a time – away from their spouses and children and parents.  Who the heck am I to complain about anything?

Source: Prinze Charming

Source: Prinze Charming

Every time I hear Toby, I stand up a little straighter.  “Courtesy of the Red, White and Blue” reminds me every time I hear it that we, as Americans, can sleep at night without fear thanks to the heroes who have busted their asses for us since 9/11.

Source: Pop Dust

Source: Pop Dust

Each time I see fireworks, I stare in complete awe, thinking of the work our Founding Fathers put forth in paving the way for us as citizens of the best country on Earth.

Source: Progressive Libertarianism

Source: Progressive Libertarianism

At every baseball game I attend, I sit and close my eyes for a few seconds, taking in the sounds and smells around me.  It truly is America’s pastime.

Alicia Benton Photography

Alicia Benton Photography

Every time I see the New York skyline, I think about how we Americans destroyed all boundaries and prejudices, at least temporarily, in order to stand together, in unity, for our Country.  It consistently reminds me that we are, in fact, the world’s greatest.

Source: America 911

Source: America 911

Every time I go to vote, I say a silent prayer of thanks that I live in a Democratic society where I am free to choose what I think is best for our nation.  While my opinion may not always be the winning opinion, at least I can have my say.  It is our civic duty to go out and vote.  If you don’t already, I urge you to in our next election.  Use your voice that our soldiers are fighting to allow us to keep.

Every time I publish a new post on my blog, I’m grateful that I live in America – a place where I am free to speak my mind, even if others don’t like what I have to say.

Source: The Core Message

Source: The Core Message

Each time I stand to say the Pledge of Allegiance, I stop to actually consider the words I’m saying.  ONE NATION.  UNDER GOD.  You’re damn right…

Source: Mitt Romney Central

Source: Mitt Romney Central

To sum all this up, I’m proud to be an American.  I understand what some are giving up so that I can continue to be safe, free, and selfish.  Freedom is most certainly not free.

Photo by QT Luong

Photo by QT Luong

Thank you.  Thank you to all those who are fighting, and have fought, for my family, friends, and me.  You are my real-life superheroes.

Source: Freedom Trail Run

Source: Freedom Trail Run

Happy 4th of July!

8 responses to ““Man, we lit up your world like the 4th of July…” ~Toby Keith

Have Two Cents?

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

