“Some of the best memories are made in flip flops.” ~Kellie Elmore


Source: lovebuildsthishappyhome.blogspot.com

Source: lovebuildsthishappyhome.blogspot.com

Today’s Be Happy Challenge:

– Three Things You Love About Summertime. –

Summertime and the livin’ is easy…

Ah, summer… my favorite time of year.  Yes, even more than Christmastime.  Warm weather, long lazy days, sandy toes, cold drinks… I love everything about it.

If I had to pick only three things I love about summer, though, they would be:

1. Grilling

I love grilled food – the taste, the smell, and even the aura that comes with cooking out.  In the summer, we resort to grilling everything.  Chicken, steak, shrimp, burgers, hot dogs, fish, veggies, fruit… We’ve even grilled pound cake and peaches for dessert.  In fact, if it can’t be grilled, we don’t cook it.  Seriously.

Alicia Benton Photography

Alicia Benton Photography

2. Fireworks

Even as a kid, my very favorite holiday has always been the Fourth of July.  There’s something I just love about coming together as proud Americans and watching in awe and reverence as beautiful explosive fireworks light up the night sky.  Sometimes in the summer, it doesn’t even need to be July 4th to see a breathtaking fireworks display.

Alicia Benton Photography

Alicia Benton Photography

3. Swimming

We all love to swim, and it doesn’t matter where.  We’ll swim in the pool, the ocean, the lake, or the river.  I even love watching the kids play silly pool games while I lie lazily on my beach chair soaking up some rays.  “Hey Mom, count how long I can hold my breath.”  “Hey Mom, tell us who has the biggest cannonball splash.”  “Hey Mom, tell us who can swim to the other side the fastest.”  That never gets old to me.

Alicia Benton Photography

Alicia Benton Photography

Like I said, these are only a [very] few of the things I love about summer.  What do you love about it?

Source: Goodreads

Source: Goodreads

“Summertime is always the best of what might be.”  ~ Charles Bowden

6 responses to ““Some of the best memories are made in flip flops.” ~Kellie Elmore

Have Two Cents?

Jeanne Grier

A modern day mom

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

