“So many books, so little time.” ~Frank Zappa


Source: lovebuildsthishappyhome.blogspot.com

Source: lovebuildsthishappyhome.blogspot.com

Saturday’s Be Happy Challenge:

– A Book You Love and Recommend. –

Reading is one of my favorite things to do.  That makes this post especially difficult.  Also, I’m trying to recommend a book that I don’t think is extremely well-known.  For example, I love The Hunger Games and A Game of Thrones; however, I think most of you have probably already read those.

Instead of picking one book that I’m fairly certain you may have already read, I’m going to do what I usually do in these challenge posts and cheat.  In lieu of choosing one book I love, I’m going to choose two authors whom I love and feel pretty certain that most of you have probably not read many of their books.

The first of my favorites is Kristin Hannah.  Kristin is actually an attorney whose mom told her that she was going to be a writer.  As her mom was in the hospital, fighting a long battle against cancer, Kristin started writing with her.  After her mom died, she buried those pages away and continued her career as an attorney.  While on bed rest, bored to death, she pulled out those pages again and began writing.  The rest is history for her.

The first book I read of hers, Firefly Lane, was actually one I picked up because I liked the cover.  It turned out to be an amazing book, and I went on to read all the rest of hers.  My favorite of them all is Night Road.

Night Road is about a mom who lives for her teenage twins.  The twins befriend a girl who was formerly a foster child with a shaky past, and the three of them become inseparable.  As they grow up together before college, the mom worries about their every decision.  Well, eventually, one of those decisions changes their lives forever.

This book is impossible to put down, and any parent who reads it will come away with a completely new outlook on life and parenting.  Honestly, it changed my life.  As soon as I read the last page and wiped the last tear, I gave the book to my mom and insisted she read it, too.

The second author I recommend without a second thought is Karen Kingsbury.  She’s a Christian author who writes incredible fiction.  Every once in a while, it’s nice to read a page-turner that’s not full of smut.  Karen is a mom of six kids, three of whom she and her husband adopted from Haiti.

She often writes series books, my favorite of which is the Baxter series.  There are five “sets” of books in this series, and I’ve read them all, unable to put them down.  The first set in the series is called the Redemption series, and it focuses on one family and their trials and triumphs.

As the reader, I felt like I knew every character personally, and I found myself honestly concerned with the decisions they made.  This series, like the book I discussed above, was honestly life-changing.  There were things about marriage, relationships, and guilt throughout the series that I needed to hear whether I wanted to or not.

I’ve read all the other books written by both of these authors, and for the most part, I’ve loved all of them.  They’re fairly quick reads, probably because most of them are page-turners.  I’ve got quite an eclectic taste in books, but I would recommend these two women without hesitation.

Source: The New Yorker

Source: The New Yorker

 

11 responses to ““So many books, so little time.” ~Frank Zappa

Have Two Cents?

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

