“Don’t forget that we lawyers, we’re a higher breed of intellect, and so it’s our privilege to lie.” ~Yevgeny Zamyatin


Source: lovebuildsthishappyhome.blogspot.com

Source: lovebuildsthishappyhome.blogspot.com

Today’s Be Happy Challenge:

– A Goal You Are Working Towards. – 

Esquire

This is the goal I’m working towards – a title.  Plain and simple.  As far back as I can remember, I’ve wanted to be an attorney.  Being an attorney, however, requires passing the Bar Exam.  Passing the Bar requires going to law school.  Going to law school requires a decent LSAT score.  A decent LSAT score requires actually taking the LSAT.  Taking the LSAT requires time to study.  Time to study requires a schedule that’s not quite as hectic as mine.

Okay, these all sound like a bunch of excuses, right?  Well, you’re right.  They are.  The real reason my butt hasn’t started law school yet is because I’m terrified.

What if I do terrible on the LSAT and can’t get into any decent law school?

What if I can’t keep working full-time and still get good grades in law school?

What if I do fine in law school and then can’t get a job with a good firm?

What if I can’t afford law school?

What if I do fine on the LSAT but then can’t pass the Bar Exam?

What if it starts raining huge, killer meatballs and one lands on my car and kills me on the way to class one night?

Yep, all my excuses probably sound as ridiculous as that last one, huh?

My original plan back in the day was to take the LSAT and apply to law school right out of undergrad.  That plan was thwarted when I ended up with a toddler and an infant by the time I graduated from college.  There was no possible way I could work full-time, commute almost two hours to law school every night, and still take care of two small kids.

A few years later, a law school opened right here in Charleston.  So, my next plan was to go to that law school. That plan was thwarted when I discovered that the school wasn’t yet accredited.  Apparently you can only get Federal financial aid to an accredited school.  Finally, after a while, the school got its accreditation.

My plan once that happened was to start at the local, newly accredited law school.  But that didn’t work out because by that time, the boys were actively involved in numerous sports – football, baseball, and wrestling.  I couldn’t bear to miss watching them participate in the activities they loved and were naturally good at, not to mention the fact that I was practically a single mom even though I was married to their sperm donor, so they most likely would have had to quit their sports altogether.

Now, of course, they still play a multitude of sports, but they’re almost high school age [eek!], so their practices will be directly after school, and they won’t need me to transport them here, there, and everywhere.  Also (and I hate to even think about this one), Gerald will be driving soon.  [Gulp.]

This means that my excuses are running out, and soon I’ll have no choice but to suck it up, put my big girl panties on, and finally DO IT!  I need to crack open that dusty LSAT study book and get the logical reasoning side of my brain working again.

I have no doubt that once I finally do it, I’ll love it.  Practicing law is something I’ve always wanted to do.  My brain thinks like a lawyer – it’s second nature to me.  I’ve worked in the legal field for many years, so I know the ins and outs of how a law firm is run… it’s riddled with politics and butt-kissing.  It’s all about who you know and how much money you have.  I already know that.  I’m ready for it.

I’m tired of doing all the work and making none of the money, working on the paralegal side of firms.  I’m tired of the consistent expectation by the old, disgustingly loaded partners that they’ll be receiving a blow job under their desks.  It’s never gonna’ happen.  So what does that mean?  In order to get ahead in this field and make a decent amount, I need to get the title and bust my ass to make it happen for myself.

I can do it.  I can do it.  I can do it.  LSAC, bring it.  I’m ready for you.  Hopefully, one day in the future, maybe around the time I’m finally Freshly Pressed, my blog title will be changed to “Alicia Benton, Esquire.”

Source: someecards

Source: someecards

17 responses to ““Don’t forget that we lawyers, we’re a higher breed of intellect, and so it’s our privilege to lie.” ~Yevgeny Zamyatin

Have Two Cents?

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

