I am really looking forward as I get older and older, to being less and less nice. ~Annette Bening


Source: lovebuildsthishappyhome.blogspot.com

Source: lovebuildsthishappyhome.blogspot.com

Today’s Be Happy Challenge:

– Something You Are Looking Forward To. –

I remember years ago when the biggest thing I was looking forward to was the day that my kids could reach and pour the milk by themselves so they wouldn’t have to wake me up at zero dark thirty to make them breakfast.  Finally that day came, and it was every bit as glorious as I had hoped!

Now, as my kids are nearly high school age, I’m looking forward to the day they move out and I can work on retirement, move to St. Croix, and become an ornery old woman, like Arden has already become.  That day may not come as easily as the kids reaching the milk, however.

So, more realistically and immediately, I’m looking forward to this weekend!  The glorious days of spring have finally arrived in Charleston after a cold, uncharacteristically long winter.  Okay, so maybe not spring… Here we tend to jump straight from winter to summer, and we really only have two seasons: Stinkin’ hot and stinkin’ cold.  Only a few weeks ago, I still needed a blanket on my lap at baseball practice, and now it’s about 97 degrees outside.

Source: someecards

Source: someecards

Beautiful [and hot] days call for awesome weekends and free time!  And since I can’t just hop on a plane and take a vacation to my favorite place in the whole world, I’ll have to make due with our beautiful city.

We’re going to spend this beautiful Friday afternoon enjoying some reggae at Party at Point with great friends.

Then, tomorrow, we’re going to float on the Edisto River.  We’ll have lots of beer and lots of friends in tow, and we’re just going to enjoy a nice lazy day – finally!  After the week of hell I’ve had at work, I’m really looking forward to some relaxation.  And did I mention beer?  I can’t wait for a nice cold beer.  🙂  We bought a really cool, ginormous float, and even though the kids can fit in it with us, we got them each their own.  If we’re really going to enjoy the weekend, the kids are going to have to annoy the crap out of each other and not us, right?!

Source: Kmart

Source: Kmart

On Sunday, we’ll venture to Sullivans Island.  The kids can play in the waves while I dig my toes in the warm sand and even out these tan lines.  Sounds heavenly, does it?  Since I live at the beach, I have to remind myself often not to take advantage of it.  Some people aren’t as fortunate as we are, and they don’t get the luxury of basking in the beautiful sunshine on a gorgeous beach whenever they want.

Photo by Alicia Benton Photography

Photo by Alicia Benton Photography

So, as I enjoy every second of my weekend (that I’m so looking forward to right now), I will also be thankful:

Thankful for my health and my family’s health…

Thankful for our brave American soldiers who are fighting for our freedom this very second so that we can enjoy our weekends without a care in the world…

Thankful to live in the best City in the world…

Thankful for a man who has been more of a dad to my boys than their own father ever was – Happy Father’s Day…

Thankful for a job that I love and get weekends off from…

Thankful that I can hear my favorite reggae music tonight…

Thankful that I can taste delicious, ice cold beer on these hot days…

Thankful for the beautiful sunshine…

Thankful for my amazing blogger friends with whom I can share these great experiences…

Thankful for our beautiful children who find some way to bring laughter to my life every day…

What are you looking forward to?

 Source: Head to Toe Women's Expo

Source: Head to Toe Women’s Expo

 

17 responses to “I am really looking forward as I get older and older, to being less and less nice. ~Annette Bening

Have Two Cents?

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

