“You look absolutely amazing.” ~Eugene Benton


Source: lovebuildsthishappyhome.blogspot.com

Source: lovebuildsthishappyhome.blogspot.com

Today’s Be Happy Challenge:

– Three Ways to Win Your Heart. –

There are lots of little ways to win my heart.  Telling me I look absolutely amazing is one of the ones that works for Father Figure every time.  Some other ways (like buying me coffee) you already know about or at least could have guessed.  But there are a few really special things that win my heart in a big way.  Father Figure has mastered them all pretty well.

1. Take me fishing.  (The fine print: and bait my hooks for me.)

Yep, that’s right.  I love fishing.  Except the bait part.  If you really want to win my heart, you have to do more than just take me fishing.  You have to put my worm, or squid, or fiddler crab on my hook for me.  And then when I catch a fish, you have to take it off the hook for me and re-bait my line.  Sometimes I may catch so many fish that you might not even have time to bait your own line before you have to take my next fish off and get me all ready to cast again.  But you can’t get mad about that… You have to be proud of me and happy that I’m catching so many fish.  Sounds exhausting, doesn’t it?  I never said it would be easy to win my heart…

2. Take me to a football game.

You all already know that I love football, and there’s nothing better than being at a game and watching it in person.  Football, fall, burgers, and beer.  Does it get any better than that?  This particular way to my heart isn’t as complicated as the last.  The only difficult thing you may need to do for this one is back me up when I trash talk the obnoxious fans cheering for the other team, and they start threatening to kill me in the parking lot.  No big deal, right?  Oh, wait.  I should probably mention that my “cheering” gets louder as my team wins by more and more.  You’ve now been given fair warning.  And Go Cocks!!

3. Take me on a vacation.

Now, this vacation that I speak of doesn’t need to be expensive and fancy, but I do prefer St. Croix.  Or Niagra Falls.  Or Jekyll Island.  All of these places hold special little places in my soul, and my heart has been won in each of them.  St. Croix is the most beautiful place in the entire world, and I wish I could live there in a tiny little beach house on the West end.  Niagra Falls is completely majestic and romantical (yes, that’s a real word in our house), and it’s an amazing reminder that there is a God far bigger than ourselves.  Jekyll Island has the most amazing beaches and scenery and could be home to a million more opportunities to win my heart.  Someone has taken me to all these places and has won my heart in every one of them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I’m sure you’ve picked up on by now, it takes someone pretty special to win my heart.  I don’t think the ways that it can be done are that complicated, but I have the feeling some of you are shocked at how high-maintenance I probably appear.  I’m not really that bad… I promise.  Okay, Father Figure may say differently, but either way I’m thankful I now know that there are, in fact, a few ways to break through my rock-hard exterior and get through that mile-high wall to my heart.

How does someone win your heart?

20 responses to ““You look absolutely amazing.” ~Eugene Benton

  • ardenrr

    They make me bacon and give me back rubs….

  • donofalltrades

    You look absolutely amazing in these pictures in this post.

    My heart is won with beer, but that’s not news.

  • Eugene

    It was all luck 🙂 in finding the right girl (who’s very freaking hot) and shares the same interests as I do. In the same manner, stealing my heart was finding a GIRL willing to do those things.

  • Cordelia

    Omigosh it’s been so long I don’t even remember. Pretty sure my heart is a dried up black raisin at this point. Who wants to win that? Well, if they did I suppose they could take me to a baseball game, fetch my beers, and not have to ask me what I want on my hot dog….

    • aliciabenton

      This comment cracked me up! Hilarious!

      And I’ll admit – Mine was a little (okay, a lot) dried up, too, but it just took a little hard work (okay, a lot) and someone determined to undry it!!

      I love me a good baseball game, too. Hot dogs and beer. A little ketchup and a lot of mustard. Yumm.

      I think you and I might be related somewhere down the line…!!!

  • Cowboys and Crossbones

    Love this post! The way to my heart is always keeping a drink in my hand…

  • Dad, It's OK!

    Doesn’t take much to win mine… Just accept me for me. I’m a bit odd, over zealous, a little emotional for a dude, and pretty open with my thoughts and feelings, which can be difficult to accept sometimes. Thank god I found my wife! 🙂

    • aliciabenton

      She sounds like she’s amazing!

      And you sound pretty great yourself! 🙂

      Don’t be so hard on yourself. Some women would die for an emotional man who’s open with his thoughts and feelings!

  • bensbitterblog

    1. No.
    2. I will take you to a football game. I’ll pick you up for the Washington Huskies game. Make sure you wear you Purple and Gold. We are playing the Gamecocks.
    3. That place looks absolutely amazing. I want to be lazy there.

    As far as what wins my heart. “Honey, why don’t you stay home and sit on the couch and watch an action movie. Here is the remote. I’ll take the kids and be gone for the rest of the day. Oh and while I’m out, I’ll tell your job that you quit and are becoming a full time bitter blogger. Have a good day!”

    • aliciabenton

      Wearing purple is against my religion – sorry. 😛

      And the Gamecocks will win – sorry again.

      Ha – Love the way to your heart!! It probably doesn’t get won often, does it?!

      • bensbitterblog

        About as much as yours? How do you get someone to bait your hook? Over and over?
        Who is in charge of your religion? I’m pretty sure Christ was a king and thus would wear the royal color of purple.
        Yes, the Gamecocks would win, but that is because the Huskies suck. I don’t really want to go to their game.

      • Eugene Benton

        She’s hot; therefore, she gets her hook baited and fish taken off.

        And I admit, I’m a sucker for that smile and “giggle” when she catches a lot of fish. Having me repeatedly bait an release is the scheme to later say I was out fished.

      • bensbitterblog

        She used her charm on you to catch her fish! She was also brown nosing by using you in the quote at the beginning!

Have Two Cents?

Jeanne Grier

A modern day mom

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

