“The most obscene symbol in human history is the Cross; yet in its ugliness it remains the most eloquent testimony to human dignity.” ~R.C. Sproul


Source: lovebuildsthishappyhome.blogspot.com

So, I’ve accepted Amber’s Be Happy Challenge for two reasons:

1. Now I don’t have to be creative and come up with ideas to blog about on my own.

2. It’s called the “Be Happy Challenge”… That sounds like a nice change of pace compared to my usual depressing posts and rants.  Maybe this month my glass will be half full!

I’ll go back and do posts for the first and second, but for now I’ll start with the third.

– 3. What you wore, in detail. –

Generally speaking, I’m a jeans and t-shirt kind of girl.  And I love living in the south because that means that I can live in my flip-flops.  Of course, when I’m at work, I dress up and look quasi-nice, but during the weekend, you’ll rarely find me in anything other than jeans, a t-shirt, and my most comfortable pair of Nike flip-flops.

But regardless of what I’m dressed in, you’ll notice that I am almost always wearing my diamond cross necklace.

I wish I’d photoshopped that awful hat out of the pic…

I got it the day I graduated from college: December 13, 2003.  It was a gift from my dad.  I remember opening it and being shocked not only by how beautiful it was, but also by the fact that my dad picked it out himself!  He was so proud to tell me that he found it and picked it out all on his own.  For those of you who know him, you know this was quite a feat!

My dad :)

My dad 🙂

In addition to it being special because it came from my dad as a gift to celebrate one of my greatest accomplishments, I also always wear it because of what it represents.  I am a proud Christian, and I’m humbled by the fact that Jesus made the ultimate sacrifice for me even though I’m often a terrible person and am tremendously undeserving of His love.

While my cross is only a symbol, it serves as a constant reminder to myself that I need to let go of my pride and rebellion and that I need to be thankful in all circumstances.  I have been blessed beyond description and certainly have no room to complain about anything.

So as you can see, my necklace means so much to me for a number of reasons, and it’s the one thing I wear nearly every day, regardless of whether I’m sporting my flip-flops or my heels.

35 responses to ““The most obscene symbol in human history is the Cross; yet in its ugliness it remains the most eloquent testimony to human dignity.” ~R.C. Sproul

Have Two Cents?

Jeanne Grier

A modern day mom

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

