“Racism is so universal in this country, so widespread, and deep-seated, that it is invisible because it is so normal.” ~Shirley Chisholm


Source: hayspost.com

Source: hayspost.com

Before I start with my “ignorant quote of the weekend” story, I want to take a second to thank all the men and women who have died bravely serving our Country.  Also, thank you to those who are currently fighting for the freedoms that we take advantage of daily.  It is thanks to YOU that we can even write these blogs and share our honest feelings.  And it is thanks to YOU that I could spend my weekend lying on a beach, enjoying the perfect weather, while you spent yours in a desert hell, never knowing whether you’ll be safe the next second and counting down the days until you can be back home with your families and friends.  THANK YOU.  We owe you our lives and our freedoms.

Okay, so now to my unbelievable weekend story…

Father Figure, the kids, and I went to the beach yesterday to enjoy our perfect, 80-degree weather here in beautiful Charleston.

At this particular beach, you can’t have dogs on the beach from 10 to 6.  While I love dogs, I think that this was probably a good idea yesterday because it was packed.  Everyone was enjoying their last day of the long weekend, and there was hardly an empty spot on the beach from all the people.  It would have been miserably full if everyone had their dogs out there, too.  So a cop came up to a couple who was on the beach right in front of us and told them that they needed to come back without their dog or could come back with her after 6.

I admit that I did feel kind of bad for them because they had just gotten all of their stuff unpacked and settled on the beach, their kids had just gotten in the water, and their big old fat dog was adorable.  She was just lying there, enjoying the sand and the sun, and she looked like a big baby.  She wasn’t running around or barking like crazy; she was the perfect dog.

After they were told they couldn’t have Luna (the dog) on the beach with them, they started packing up.  Paw went to get the kids out of the water, and Maw was trying to pack everything up with one hand while holding Luna’s leash with the other.  Like a sweet southern belle, I got my lazy butt out of my beach chair and offered to help Maw by holding Luna while she finished packing up their towels, toys, and cooler.

She thanked me and then proceeded to tell me that she was from somewhere in North Carolina and that they didn’t want to leave Luna at their hotel all day.  She said that it really sucked that they had to leave because the day before, they had gone to a different beach in the area where dogs are allowed at any time of day, but that they didn’t like it there because of the “type of people” who were there.

I assumed that “type of people” meant maybe rich and snobby since we live in a pretty affluent area, and these folks sounded pretty country.  I also assumed that maybe someone hassled them about their dog since Luna was pretty big and wasn’t a small frou-frou lapdog.

Anyway, I stayed and chatted with Maw while she finished packing up, and then her boyfriend came back from the water with the kids.  Paw introduced himself, grumbled about them having to leave, and then he told me his version of why he hated the other beach that they visited the day before.

And when he did… I finally started to understand who the “other type of people” referred to.

Here’s what he said [read with your best country/redneck accent]:

“Yeah, we went up to that other beach over yonder yesterday, and the whole damn beach was full a’ those watermelons.”

Huh???  What did that mean?  Why was the beach full of watermelons?  The Watermelon Festival isn’t this weekend, and it’s not at the beach, is it?  Why wouldn’t people throw their rinds in the trash?  Why would they even bring watermelon to the beach?  Doesn’t it get all sandy and make a sticky mess?

Then, Maw cut in and cleared it up for me a little [again, read with your best country/redneck accent]:

“Yeah, those damn watermelons and pit bulls… The whole beach was full of ‘em.”

What?!  The beach was full of watermelons and pit bulls?  How strange.  I don’t see many pit bulls on the beach when I go, and there certainly isn’t trash all over the beach.  How strange…

Paw made another comment that I think was supposed to be funny because he laughed his best redneck beer-belly laugh, and suddenly a light went off…

They weren’t really talking about watermelons and pit bulls.  That was their best euphemism for black people!!!  And isn’t a euphemism supposed to be used instead of something that can be found offensive?

At this point, I couldn’t even believe what I had just listened to.

Source: Newd Magazine

Source: Newd Magazine

These morons were racist!  And they didn’t want to go to the other beach because … wait for it … black people were there!  They said that they would just waste the rest of their vacation hanging out at the hotel’s pool so that they didn’t have to go back to the other beach.  Are you kidding me?!  Clearly these rednecks from the hills of North Carolina had the smallest pea brains in existence.  Father Figure and I just stared at each other in unbelief!

They finished packing and left with their kids and their poor, albeit adorable dog.  As I sat there thinking about this whole conversation after they left, I felt more and more sorry for their poor kids.  They were still young, and it was sad to think that they, too, would probably grow up to be racist idiots just like their parents.

Source: Relativity Online

Source: Relativity Online

I wish that in the middle of their conversation on why they hated the other beach (you know, the one full of watermelons and pit bulls), that my two biracial kids would have walked up and said, “Hey Mom, look at the shell I found!” or something to that effect.  I imagine the looks on Maw and Paw’s faces would have been priceless.

Source: Kefi.co

Source: Kefi.co

It makes me sad to think that this is 2013 and racism and hatred still exist.  You may remember my previous post about racism.  It’s an ever-growing problem.  Unfortunately, it’s not just an issue with race, either.  We see so many stories in the news now about poor kids killing themselves because they’re being picked on and bullied about ridiculous things.  This is NOT okay!!! 

We need to teach our children tolerance and love.  We also need to teach them to stand up for these poor people who are picked on and hated on.  Only our kids can change the future.  As F.D.R. said, “We may not be able to prepare the future for our children, but we can at least prepare our children for the future.”  The place to start is with love and acceptance.  No, we don’t have to agree with everyone’s choices in our increasingly liberal America, but we do have to at least tolerate them.  Set the example.  End racism through unity.  Don’t ignore it – STOP IT!

Source: KULfoto

Source: KULfoto

RACISM

WRONG

21 responses to ““Racism is so universal in this country, so widespread, and deep-seated, that it is invisible because it is so normal.” ~Shirley Chisholm

  • xdanigirl

    This. This is amazing. How right you are!! I especially like the Denis Leary quote. I can’t stand people like those you saw at the beach… I feel sorry for their kids.

    • aliciabenton

      Me too! I think that’s why it took me so long to figure out what the heck they were talking about… I just don’t think like that. It always makes me so mad to hear stupid, ignorant comments like that. Grr!

      • xdanigirl

        When I saw “watermelons and pitbulls” I had it figured out. What a degrading name to come up with!! My husband’s dad tends to make racist comments (especially when he is drunk, which is most of the time), and it really REALLY irks me. Too the point that I almost say something. I’m sure I will get to that point eventually but I’ve been trying to keep the peace as much as I can.

      • aliciabenton

        I know how you feel!! Especially when it’s a family member…

  • ardenrr

    I was waiting for the moment that Ronald & Gerald walked up … DAMMIT! What a pair of douche bags!

    • aliciabenton

      I know! You know they would have given them the lecture !

      I still remember when Gerald told one of his friends in elementary school that he was NOT black. He was gray. His mom is white, and his dad is black, so that makes him gray.

      I love kids’ innocence. I hate how we, as adults, ruin it.

  • AHMommy

    That just makes me so mad!

  • Dad, It's OK!

    Growing up Hispanic in the south, I understand the need to change the future generations thought process when it comes to hate. Racism, Sexism, etc. are just needless. End of story. We have no NEED to hate another human being for any reason. What’s crazy is that they didn’t even try to hide it. They spoke as if it was just acceptable behavior. It’s sad when people don’t even feel the need to hide their hate, they just speak to any stranger about it. Those kids are doomed…

    • aliciabenton

      That always amazes me, too… the fact that they’re almost proud of it and have no desire to hide it. It seems like they assume that everyone feels the same ignorant way they do… AND WE DON’T!!! I just hate it that kids think that way, too, yet they have no idea why they’re that way… only that their parents said they should be. So sad.

  • bensbitterblog

    Unfortunately, it is always going to happen, but you would think that people would be more enlightened these days. I also have a bi-racial kid and we haven’t had problems with others and him yet, but I figure we will somewhere down the line. If people could just take the time to get to know others this kind of thing wouldn’t happen as much. Anyways, pretty crappy that would happen to you.

    • aliciabenton

      Unfortunately, it probably will down the road, like you said. When the boys were born I thought maybe by the time they were middle/high school aged, that they wouldn’t have this problem. Not so. It’s sad for them. They didn’t have any choice in who their parents were, yet they’re the ones who suffer for it.

      • bensbitterblog

        My son is adopted so when people see him with me alone or with his mother alone, they assume that the other is another race. They get really freaked out when the other comes back. The adoption thing is a whole other issue. One person asked my wife how you could truly love a child that wasn’t really yours. He is ours and he is pretty hard not to love.

      • aliciabenton

        What?! How can you love a child who’s not yours??? Oh my. What an ignorant ass. He IS yours. Smh…

      • bensbitterblog

        You better believe I SMH when I heard that. It was a her that said it and she has like 6 or 7 spawns of Satan that no one loves including her, so it was even more shocking. She totally yells at her kids constantly and passes them off to other more interested parties. So in my head, I’m like, how can you keep having babies that you don’t love?

      • aliciabenton

        Because I would bet that she gets a nice fat check every month, thanks to those of us who works our butts off for what we have…

      • bensbitterblog

        She has a stupid husband who has a good enough job to pay for kids, but for them it is all about the numbers, not about the love. Weirdos.

  • fakingpictureperfect

    What kills me is that these ignorant people think all WHITE people feel the same way, so they feel it is OK to say such idiotic things. Disgusting!

    • aliciabenton

      That’s exactly what I thought, too! They said it with no shame whatsoever, assuming that just because I’m white, that I automatically agree with every ignorant thing that they believe. Makes me so mad…

  • Annita

    For those of you who are silent because of fear or because it is a relative…your inaction contributes to the problem. You ALLOW racists to assume all whites think the way they do.

    Your silence is a tacit approval because you do NOT say otherwise. Your silence ALLOWS racism to continue to fester under the surface because you are too fearful to expose it.

    Not “rocking the boat” is worse than the racist because you KNOW better, but do NOTHING.

    Confronting racism is inconvenient and uncomfortable, so you do a “smh” and post about how horrible “those” racists are.

    You think you are better than them, but frankly not by much. You are silent accomplices to acts of racial ignorance and hatred.

    So, save your sadness and tears at the continuing existence of racism. They mean nothing if you stand SILENT in its presence. White people, you need to do more than just feel “sad” when you are a witness to racism or racist rhetoric.

Have Two Cents?

Jeanne Grier

A modern day mom

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

