“Life’s better when it’s fun. Boy, that’s deep, isn’t it?” ~Kevin Costner


Chick Magnet

Chick Magnet

Some people really need to just lighten up.  I bet if they did, they would probably find life a lot less stressful.  I’m in no way just a jokester or prankster all the time, but I’m still able to laugh a lot of stuff off.  I know when to be serious and when it’s okay to chill out a little.  Some people, however, don’t, and their “offended” button is set at way too sensitive.

For example, The Huffington Post posted an article yesterday about t-shirts that are made for toddlers that are just “shocking,” according to some parents.  People, if you don’t like them, then don’t put them on your kids.  It’s not that difficult – especially at the toddler age, when kids don’t pick out their own clothes and dress themselves.  (Okay, some 35-year-old men don’t do those things either, but that’s a topic for a whole new blog… don’t get me sidetracked.)

The “shocked mom” in the article was appalled at a shirt for a 4-year-old that read “Barely Legal.”  Okay, I get it.  Probably not appropriate for a toddler.  But wait… The mom then says (and I quote), “I grabbed it without even registering what the label said, it just looked like a good night shirt for the summer.  Carried it around for about 5 minutes before I read the text and threw up in my mouth a little.”  Really, lady?  You were buying a shirt for your daughter that you didn’t even READ until five minutes after you picked it up?!  Yet you’re blaming the shirt designer?  Tsk, tsk, tsk.

Source: floresfactor.wordpress.com

Source: floresfactor.wordpress.com

Anyway, at the end of the article, there was a slideshow of pictures of baby clothes that just aren’t appropriate for babies.  According to whom?  Other than this one, I actually thought most of the others were quite funny:

Source: Etsy

Source: Etsy

This one just grossed me out a little.

But tell me, what’s so inappropriate about this one?

Source: Cafe Press

Source: Cafe Press

I actually found it funny.  Did the critics and writers of this article actually think that the designer was insinuating that the child who wore this would eventually grow up to be a no-good hoodlum who would never keep a job, smoke weed every day, and end up being kicked out of his roach-infested apartment?  I mean, c’mon man… I think it’s pretty safe to say that what they really meant was that the kid was just pushed out of mom’s little “apartment.”  What’s so offensive about that?  You want him to stay in there forever?  Isn’t that fostering a future and acceptance of co-dependence?  Certainly we wouldn’t want that.

And then, perhaps my favorite of all of their shameful examples, there was this:  (Which I LOVE, by the way, and wish I had a toddler to put it on.)

Source: Etsy

Source: Etsy

This has got to be the cutest little chubby-baby shirt I’ve ever seen!  But wait!  Stop everything.  Tattoos make people criminals, right?  I have two, so I must be a crack whore at night when I leave my office job, right?  And that guy who works in the office down the hall has one on his arm, so he must be a drug dealer, right?

People, GET A LIFE!!!  If you don’t like it, don’t dress your kid in it.  Otherwise, shut up, and let me parent my future delinquent kid however I see fit.  If you want something to complain about, I’m sure I can give you a hundred good examples of my bad parenting.  The way I choose to dress my kids (with funny sayings on their shirts) is not one of them.  If someone wants to put his toddler in a clever shirt that takes you ten minutes to fully “get,” then you’ll just have to gasp in complete and utter disgust and get over it.

In the meantime, as you stare at my post in outrage, I think I’m going to design a t-shirt with this saying for my tween and my teen:

Source: weheartit.com

Source: weheartit.com

What do you think?  Cool, right?

8 responses to ““Life’s better when it’s fun. Boy, that’s deep, isn’t it?” ~Kevin Costner

Have Two Cents?

Jeanne Grier

A modern day mom

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

JAG GYM Blog

We do good things for kids!

RECLAIMING YOUR CASTLE

...LOVING THE PLACE YOU COME HOME TO.

The Awakened Lifestyle

The Official Blog of Internationally Recognized Dating Coach John Keegan

Ooops, I Said Vagina... Again..

Being a mother, wife, and all around good person... MOST of the time.

Writing Between the Lines

Life From a Writer's POV

Life With The Top Down

Enjoy The Ride!

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

nobodysreadingme

Writers write. The rest make excuses.

the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

adventures in defensive gardening

Suddenly they all died. The end.

Write or write not - there is no aspiring.

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

delivered directly to my computer monitor on an all too regular basis...

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

Laura A. Lord

"Of this I am certain: The moment you said, "You are..." I no longer recognized myself. ‪‎I am‬ more than the woman you see. "

Corner of Confessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

